If I pretend to like Kanye, does that make me a bad person?

A few months back, Simmons College sent out a call for volunteers to take part in a pen pal program with a local middle school. I volunteered and just got my first letter in the mail.

My pen pal sounds awesome. She likes cats, the Scary Movie franchise, hip hop, and has visited the Carribbean. Now, to write back…

You wouldn’t think I’d be so nervous, but I am. What if she thinks I’m lame? She probably hates indie rock and the Lord of the Rings, but I have to give honest answers to her questions!

I think the key is Lucy, my awesome tiny cat. I’ve composed a solid paragraph detailing how cool she is, and I should probably also add in the story about how she ate a whole bunch of chicken wings one night and had food all over her face. That’s bound to be a winner, yes?

Also, is it inapropriate for me to recommend The Hunger Games to a sixth grader?

I mention ImprovBoston and writing, but it’s becoming clear that maybe the cat is the most universally charming thing about me.

I am so desperate for approval. Lucy, don’t let me down.

OK, real talk — as I’m typing she’s trying to climb into a paper bag and it’s hilarious.

2 thoughts on “If I pretend to like Kanye, does that make me a bad person?

  1. I have been a “big brother” for over 3 years now. Don’t fake it. Just be honest, the kid will think you are cool over time. And hey, you ARE cool after all.

Leave a Reply

