Snakes in a Condo: Stress

I think it’s pretty well documented that hearing about peoples’ dreams is boring. But hang in there with me just for a minute. Here it goes.

I wake up in California at 10am. I was supposed to be at work in Massachusetts at 9am. I am in a panic. My iphone is terrible and my fingers have an impossible time dialing my office number. My boss tells me she’s sick – there’s no one there to run our business. There’s a feeling that maybe I can time travel and save my job, but chances are slim. I need to get dressed.

There are snakes everywhere, though. Like, you don’t see them at first but when you concentrate you realize they’re just frigging everywhere. So, now paralyzed with fear, I have to get ready and figure out how to get back to the east coast. Also, there’s a lunch meeting I set months ago with a former employer. I have to figure out the number to the sushi restaurant we’re meeting at and cancel. The hostess speaks no English.

Finally, I’m able to move through this weird snake condo but when I get to the next room, there’s a family there in formal attire. Someone is just about to get married. The place is double booked. I am trapped in the room with the family and suddenly these revelations of childhood abuse start to surface. It is thickly awkward and emotional and the snakes are just like…around.

I fail at time travel, clearly lose my job, the family starts screaming in a very 1980’s nighttime soap kind of way, and I’m on the verge of being attacked by snakes.

This is the one from two nights ago, but it’s representative of all my dreams lately. In short, I’m stressed out and I don’t like it one bit. My sleep has been absolute crap and I’m at that point where if I accidentally knock over an empty cup on my desk it scares the crap out of me and I have to fight a scream. Tightly wound, perhaps?

Any tips you all have on relaxation strategies would actually be much appreciated. Meditation? Tea? Yoga? Breathing exercises? What works for you?

2 thoughts on “Snakes in a Condo: Stress

  1. alcohol is a nice quick fix… and generally i don’t know of any negative side effects after long-term, prolonged use as self-medication to psychological troubles.

    Hang in there, kiddo. You rock everything that you do and sometimes I fear that you somehow don’t know just how awesome you are.

Leave a Reply

